The Collected Macabre Stories [Jacketed Hard Cover] by L.P. Hartley

Product code: 978-1-872621-62-3

COLLECTION by L.P. Hartley
PUBLICATION Tartarus Press

Jacketed Hard Cover ISBN 978-1-872621-62-3 [£35]


Perhaps best known for his 'perfectly realised' novel of Edwardian childhood The Go-Between, L.P. Hartley was also a much admired adept of the macabre short story. Hartley was no dilettante in the genre: he was well-versed in its long and distinguished tradition, and these carefully crafted tales represent some of the most successful attempts to carry the ghost story into the twentieth century.

The Collected Macabre Stories includes thirty-seven of Hartley's best tales, ranging from the well-known, traditional ghost stories 'The Cotillon' and 'Feet Foremost', through the dark humour of 'The Travelling Grave' and 'The Killing Bottle' to the Aickmanesque 'The Pylon'. These encompass a wide range of settings, from English Country Houses to Venetian Palaces. Two accomplished fantasies, 'Conrad and the Dragon' and 'The Crossways' display Hartley's range and versatility. Taken as a whole, the collection represents one of the most impressive achievements of twentieth-century macabre fiction.

Brand Tartarus Press
Condition New
Product Code 978-1-872621-62-3
Weight 0.5kg